fbpx

The Most Hands-On Photography Courses in Canada

Held over just one day, generally a Saturday or Sunday from 10am to 4pm, our courses are fun, small, convenient and all inclusive.

Digital I - Beginner Photography

In our most popular photography course, Digital I Beginner Photography, you will have a full hands-on and interactive photography experience. Held in interesting locations around the city, we will have you out of the classroom and into real world photography situations.

We believe you learn photography by DOING it, and with proper instruction in the moment, you make much greater progress. By taking hundreds of photos throughout the day, you will learn how to use your camera effectively to get the photos you want. Our instructors will take the mystery and the frustration out of taking great pictures, and bring back the fun!

This course is perfect for the beginner.  In our Digital I beginner photography course we show you everything you need to know to use your camera in full manual mode, choose the right lens for the job, and find the right angles. Our students learn to capture breathtaking images, while having the confidence to replicate their photographs every time.

Topics that are covered include: Portrait photography, Travel photography, Flower photography and Indoor photography.

Calgary: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital I Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day (date options below)

Location:  Eau Claire (April – October), Heritage Park (October – April)

October November December
Wed. Oct 2

Sat. Oct 5

Sat. Oct 19 – CANMORE

Sun. Oct 27

Sat. Nov 2

Sun. Nov 17

Sun. Dec 1

Sat. Dec 7

 

January (2020) February March
Sat. Jan 18

Sun. Jan 26

Sat. Feb 8

Sun. Feb 23

Sat. Mar 7

Sun. Mar 15

Sat. Mar 28

 

April May June
Sun. Apr 5

Sat. Apr 18

Wed. Apr 29

Sun. May 3 – CANMORE

Sat. May 9

Tue. May 12 – CANMORE

Sun. May 24

Sat. Jun 6

Sun. Jun 14

Mon. Jun 22

Sat. Jun 20 – CANMORE

Sat. Jun 27

 

Canmore: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital I Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location: N.W.M.P. Barracks (609 8 St, Canmore) (April – October only)

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Oct 19

2020: 

Sun. May 3
Tue. May 12
Sat. Jun 20

 

Burlington/Oakville: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital I Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Brant Street Pier (April – October),

Royal Botanical Gardens (October – April)

October November December
Sat. Oct 5

Sun. Oct 20

Sat. Nov 9 Sun. Dec 1

Sat. Dec 7

 

January (2020) February March
Sat. Jan 18
Sun. Feb 2
Sat. Feb 15
Sun. Mar 8
Sat. Mar 21

 

April May June
Sun. Apr 5
Sat. Apr 25
Sun. May 10
Thu. May 14
Sat. May 30
Tue. Jun 9
Sun. Jun 14
Sat. Jun 27

 

Mississauga: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital I Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Brueckner Rhododendron Gardens (April – October),

Centennial Park Conservatory (October – April)

October November December
Sat. Oct 5

Sun. Oct 20

Sat. Nov 9 Sun. Dec 1

Sat. Dec 7

 

January (2020) February March
Sun. Jan 18
Sat. Feb 1
Sun. Feb 16
Sat. Mar 7
Sun. Mar 22

 

April May June
Sat. Apr 4
Sun. Apr 19
Sat. May 2
Sun. May 17
Tue. May 19
Sat. Jun 6
Sun. Jun 21
Wed. Jun 24

 

Ottawa: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital I Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day (date options below)

Location: Maman Statue (April – October),

National Gallery of Canada (October – April)

October November December
Sat. Oct 5

Sun. Oct 20

Sun. Nov 3

Sat. Nov 23

Sun. Dec 1

Sat. Dec 7

 

January (2020) February March
Sat. Jan 18

Sun. Jan 26

Sat. Feb 8

Sun. Feb 23

Sat. Mar 7

Sun. Mar 15

Sat. Mar 28

 

April May June
Sun. Apr 5

Sat. Apr 18

Wed. Apr 29

Sun. May 3

Sat. May 9

Sun. May 24

Sat. Jun 6

Sun. Jun 14

Mon. Jun 22

Sat. Jun 27

 

Edmonton: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital I Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Alberta Legislature Grounds (April – October),

Royal Alberta Museum (October – April)

October November December
Sat. Oct 5

Sun. Oct 20

Sat. Nov 2

Sun. Nov 17

Sat. Dec 7

 

January (2020) February March
Sat. Jan 18
Sun. Feb 2
Sat. Feb 15
Sun. Mar 1
Sat. Mar 14

 

April May June
Sun. Apr 5
Sat. Apr 18
Sun. May 3
Wed. May 6
Sat. May 16
Sun. May 31
Sat. Jun 13
Sun. Jun 28

 

Kelowna: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital I Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Dolphin’s Statue (April – October),

Okanagan Heritage Museum (October – April)

October November December
Sat. Oct 12

Sun. Oct 27

Sat. Nov 16 Sat. Dec 7 – CLOSED

 

January (2020) February March
Sat. Jan 18
Sun. Feb 2
Sat. Feb 15
Sun. Mar 8
Wed. Mar 11
Sat. Mar 28

 

April May June
Sun. Apr 5
Wed. Apr 15
Sat. Apr 25
Sun. May 10
Tue. May 19
Sat. May 30
Mon. Jun 8
Sun. Jun 14
Sat. Jun 27

 

Cost for Digital I course:

$230+GST

Digital II - Action & Composition

Our Digital II Photography Course is designed to take your photos to the next level. This course will teach you how to read and use different lighting situations to take not just good photos, but amazing ones. We will teach you how to use your camera settings to make the best compositions.

This course will also teach you how to manage your camera settings to take crystal clear action photos. Learn how to capture motion, both indoors and out, and create spectacular photos of animals, children, vehicles and anything else that moves!

Calgary: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital II Photography Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Calgary Zoo (all year round)

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Oct 20

Sat. Nov 23

Sun. Dec 8

Sun. Jan 19, 2020

Sat. Feb 15

Sun. Mar 8

Sat. Apr 25

Thu. Apr 30

Wed. May 13 – CANMORE

Sun. May 17

Sat. Jun 13

Tue. Jun 23

Burlington/Oakville: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital II Photography Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Paletta Lakefront Park (April – October), Royal Botanical Gardens (October – April)

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Nov 23

Sun. Dec 8

Sun. Jan 19, 2020

Sat. Feb 22

Sun. Mar 15

Sat. Apr 18

Fri. May 15

Sun. May 31

Wed. Jun 10

Sat. Jun 20

Mississauga: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital II Photography Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location: Adamson Estates (April – October), Centennial Park Conservatory (October – April

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Nov 16 – CLOSED

Sun. Dec 8

Sat. Jan 25, 2020

Sun. Feb 23

Sat. Mar 14

Sun. Apr 5

Sat. May 16

Wed. May 20

Sun. Jun 14

Thu. Jun 25

Ottawa: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital II Photography Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Confederation Park (April – October), National Gallery (October – April)

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Nov 2 – SOLD OUT

Sun. Dec 8

Sun. Jan 19, 2020

Sat. Feb 15

Sun. Mar 8

Sat. Apr 25

Thu. Apr 30

Sun. May 17

Sat. Jun 13

Tue. Jun 23

Edmonton: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital II Photography Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  U of A Botanical Gardens (April – October), Art Gallery of Alberta (October – April)

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Nov 23 – CLOSED

Sun. Dec 8

Sun. Jan 26, 2020

Sat. Feb 8

Sun. Mar 15

Sat. Apr 4

Sun. Apr 26

Thu. May 7

Sun. May 17

Sat. Jun 6

Kelowna: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital II Photography Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Kasugai Gardens and Waterfront (April – October),

Rotary Centre for the Arts (October – April)

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Oct 13

Sun. Nov 3

Sun. Nov 17 – CLOSED

Sat. Jan 25, 2020

Sun. Feb 16

Thu. Mar 12

Sat. Mar 21

Thu. Apr 16

Sun. Apr 26

Wed. May 20

Sat. May 23

Tue. Jun 9

Sun. Jun 28

Cost for Digital II course:

$230+GST

Digital III - Landscapes & Travel

We will spend the day in a beautiful landscape setting learning to take landscape and travel photos you can be proud of.  We will be taking you around some amazing photographic locations and giving you the tools and knowledge to capture those incredible scenes. Note in Calgary this course will be held in Canmore or Banff depending on seasonality.

We will be covering a variety of compositional techniques, as well as HDR, panoramas and the use of filters. Learn how to use your camera to take spectacular landscape and travel photographs. Hands on and in amazing locations – it’s what we’re all about and this course takes it to the next level.

Calgary: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital III Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Canmore (April – October only)

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Oct 12

Sun. Apr 26, 2020

Sat. May 23

Sun. Jun 28

Burlington/Oakville: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital III Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Hilton Falls & Mount Nemo Conservation Area (April – October only)

** Please note there is considerable  walking involved in this day.

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Oct 19

Sun. May 3, 2020

Sat. Jun 13

Mississauga: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital III Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Hilton Falls & Mount Nemo Conservation Area (April – October only)

** Please note there is some walking involved in this day.

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Oct 19

Sun. May 3, 2020

Sat. Jun 13

Ottawa: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital III Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Hog’s Back Falls Lookout & Dominion Arboretum (April – October only)

 

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Oct 5

Sun. Apr 26, 2020

Sat. May 23

Sun. Jun 28

Edmonton: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital III Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  UofA Botanical Gardens (April – October only)

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Oct 13

Sun. Apr 19, 2020

Sat. May 23

Sun. Jun 14

Kelowna: Location, Times & Available Dates

Digital III Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Knox Mountain Park (April – October only)

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Oct 19

Sun. Apr 19, 2020

Sat. May 16

Sun. Jun 7

Cost for Digital III course:

$230+GST

People Photography

Who doesn’t want to take better photos of people? Your family, your kids and grandkids, a significant birthday, your friends at a party, a family reunion, a wedding… these are the times when you want to be able to take the very best photos of the people in your life. Our instructors help you learn photography basics for taking people photos you can treasure.

This course will have you learning the intricacies of posing, communicating and managing light to take spectacular portraits. From individuals to groups, we will have you organizing incredible photo shoots.

Calgary: Location, Times & Available Dates

People Photography Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Fish Creek Park (April – October), Heritage Park (October – April)

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Nov 17

Sun. Feb 16, 2020

Sat. Apr 4

Sun. Jun 7

Burlington/Oakville: Location, Times & Available Dates

People Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location: Lakeside Park (April – October), Village Square (October – April)

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Oct 27

Sat. Nov 16

Sun. Mar 1, 2020

Sat. May 9

Mississauga: Location, Times & Available Dates

People Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Lakeside Park (April – October), Centennial Park Conservatory (October – April)

 

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Oct 27

Sat. Nov 16

Sun. Mar 1, 2020

Sat. May 9

Ottawa: Location, Times & Available Dates

People Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Jacques Cartier Park (April – October), National Gallery of Canada (October – April)

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Nov 10

Sun. Feb 16, 2020

Sat. Apr 4

Sun. Jun 7

Edmonton: Location, Times & Available Dates

People Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Alberta Legislature Grounds (April – October), Art Gallery of Alberta (October – April)

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Oct 27

Sun. Nov 24 – CLOSED

Sun. Feb 23, 2020

Sat. Apr 25

Sun. Jun 7

Kelowna: Location, Times & Available Dates

People Photography Course Date Options

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Dolphin’s Statue (April – October), Okanagan Heritage Museum (October – April)

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Oct 26

Sun. Dec 15

Sun. Mar 1, 2020

Sat. May 9

Cost for People course:

$230+GST

Night Photography

Our Night Photography course will teach you how to capture crystal clear night scenes. Learn how to capture city scapes at night, from light trails to ghost people to light writing.

Our simple process will have you mastering all forms of low light photography, from sunsets and sunrises to night scenes. We will cover the use of tripods, shutter releases and flash at night to demystify this beautiful photography medium.

Calgary: Location, Times & Available Dates

Night Photography Course Dates

Time:  8pm – 12am

Location:  Downtown Calgary near Chinatown (April – October only)

Upcoming Dates:
Fri. May 1, 2020

Fri. May 29

Fri. Jun 12

Burlington/Oakville: Location, Times & Available Dates

Night Photography Course Date Options

Time:  8pm – 12am on just one day

Location:  Brant Street Pier (April – October only)

Upcoming Dates:
Fri. May 8, 2020

Fri. May 29

Fri. Jun 19

Mississauga: Location, Times & Available Dates

Night Photography Course Date Options

Time:  8pm – 12am on just one day

Location:  Kariya Park (April – October only)

Upcoming Dates:
Fri. Apr 24, 2020

Fri. May 22

Fri. Jun 12

Fri. Jun 26

Ottawa: Location, Times & Available Dates

Night Photography Course Date Options

Time:  8pm – 12am on just one day

Location:  Major’s Hill Park (April – October only)

Upcoming Dates:
Fri. Oct 18

Fri. May 1, 2020

Fri. May 29

Fri. Jun 12

Edmonton: Location, Times & Available Dates

Night Photography Course Date Options

Time:  8pm – 12am on just one day

Location:  Alberta Legislature Grounds (April – October only)

Upcoming Dates:
Fri. May 1, 2020

Fri. May 29

Fri. Jun 19

Kelowna: Location, Times & Available Dates

Night Photography Course Date Options

Time:  8pm – 12am on just one day

Location:  Quail’s Gate Winery (April – October only)

Upcoming Dates:
Fri. Oct 11

Fri. Apr 24, 2020

Fri. May 15

Fri. Jun 12

Cost for Night course:

$230+GST

Lightroom Photo-Editing

Learn all about Adobe Lightroom and it’s incredible functionality. This course will teach you about organizing and editing your photographs and set you up with a brilliant system for years to come!

Our course is designed to start at the very beginning and is perfect for those of you with a little, or zero Lightroom experience. Our Instructors will walk you through the photo-editing process, from import to organizing and editing and finally to exporting. This is a must-have course for anyone looking to enjoy photography.

Calgary: Location, Times & Available Dates

Lightroom Photo-Editing Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  ActionEdge Business Coaching Offices (1835 20th Avenue NW, Calgary)

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Dec 14

Sat. Feb 1, 2020

Sun. Mar 22

Sat. May 2

Burlington/Oakville: Location, Times & Available Dates

Lightroom Photo-Editing Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Locations:  Tribeca Coffee Co. (Oakville)

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Nov 17

Sun. Feb 9, 2020

Sat. Apr 25

Sun. Jun 7

Mississauga: Location, Times & Available Dates

Lightroom Photo-Editing Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Locations:  Tribecca Coffee Co. (Oakville)

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Nov 17

Sun. Feb 9, 2020

Sat. Apr 25

Sun. Jun 7

Ottawa: Location, Times & Available Dates

Lightroom Photo-Editing Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  TBA

Upcoming Dates:
Sun. Oct 27

Sun. Nov 24

Sat. Dec 14

Sat. Feb 1, 2020

Sun. Mar 22

Sat. May 2

Edmonton: Location, Times & Available Dates

Lightroom Photo-Editing Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  Tabletop Cafe 2.0 (April – October), City Arts Centre (October – April)

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Oct 19

Sun. Dec 15

Sun. Feb 9, 2020

Sat. Mar 21

Sat. May 2

Kelowna: Location, Times & Available Dates

Lightroom Photo-Editing Course Dates

Time:  10am – 4pm on just one day

Location:  TBA

Upcoming Dates:
Sat. Nov 2

Sun. Feb 23, 2020

Sat. Apr 18

Sat. Jun 13

Cost for Lightroom course:

$230+GST